GenCon: Planescape Events, Activities, and Demonstrations

I found my saved copy of the GenCon 1997 Program Book, and while nostalgically thumbing through it I spotted a folded over post-it tab. This tab was affixed to a full page ad that TSR had taken out to bring attention to some of that year’s official Planescape events:

GenCon 1997 Program Book, pg. 8

You’ll see some of the events that have been mentioned here on Living Sigil before: “Cutters”, “Clash of Councils“, and the “Dead Gods Scavenger Hunt“. As you can read for yourself, the synopsis for Clash of Councils is significantly different than that listed elsewhere. It also states there were three sessions, while distinctly remember only two — my memory may be playing tricks on me when it vaguely recalls the middle session being cancelled?

The ad talks about a “demonstration” taking place at the TSR Castle, which was the central booth in the Retailer’s Room. It was the same demo they ran the previous year, and was posted on the old Wizards of the Coast website as “Planescape Demo from Gencon 1997”.

It also lists a couple of seminars, specifically “Chant for the Clueless” and “Calling All Bloods”. While I know I attended them, I don’t remember much about them other than “Calling All Bloods” devolving into an autograph session with the authors led by yours truly. Sorry.

Suffice it to say, these event coupled with Game Base 7’s ongoing Planescape campaign made GenCon 97 on of my favorite memories.

William James Cuffe

Leave a comment